Telephone: 01354 652361

MOT Classes

If you are a vehicle owner in the UK, you are probably familiar with the annual MOT test that is required for most vehicles over three years old. However, you may not be aware of the MOT classes and what they mean for your vehicle. In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about MOT classes, including what they are, how they are determined, and what vehicles fall under each class.

What are MOT classes?

MOT classes refer to the different types of vehicles that are subject to the MOT test. There are seven different classes, each of which covers a specific type of vehicle.

Class 1

Class 1 covers motorcycles with an engine size of up to 200cc.

Class 2

Class 2 covers motorcycles with an engine size over 200cc.

Class 3

Class 3 covers three-wheeled vehicles with a weight limit of up to 450kg.

Class 4

Class 4 covers cars, vans, and motorhomes with up to 12 seats.

Class 5

Class 5 covers private passenger vehicles with 13 or more seats.

Class 7

Class 7 covers goods vehicles with a weight of between 3,000kg and 3,500kg.

Class 8

Class 8 covers goods vehicles with a weight of over 3,500kg.

How are MOT classes determined?

The MOT class that a vehicle falls under is determined by its type, weight, and number of seats. Each class has its own set of requirements that a vehicle must meet in order to pass the MOT test.

What vehicles are exempt from the MOT test?

Some vehicles are exempt from MOT in the UK because they are considered to be low risk and require less frequent testing. Vehicles that are less than three years old, electric vehicles that were first registered more than three years ago, and vehicles that have a valid MOT certificate that is less than a year old are examples of vehicles that are exempt from the MOT test.

However, it is still important to ensure that these vehicles are properly maintained and roadworthy to ensure the safety of the driver and other road users.

Some of the vehicles that are exempt from the MOT test, include:

  • Vehicles that are less than three years old
  • Vehicles that have a valid MOT certificate that is less than a year old
  • Electric vehicles that were first registered more than three years ago

What happens if a vehicle fails the MOT test?

If a vehicle fails the MOT test, it must be repaired and retested before it can be driven on the road. The vehicle will be issued with a "refusal of MOT" certificate, which outlines the reasons why the vehicle failed the test.

How often do vehicles need an MOT test?

Most vehicles over three years old require an MOT test every year. However, some vehicles may require more frequent tests, such as taxis and private hire vehicles.

MOT classes are an important part of the MOT test process in the UK. By understanding the different classes and what vehicles fall under each one, vehicle owners can ensure that their vehicle is properly tested and meets all the necessary requirements.


How long does an MOT test take?

An MOT test usually takes around 45 minutes to an hour.

Can I drive my vehicle if it fails the MOT test?

If your vehicle fails the MOT test, you must have it repaired and retested before you can legally drive it on the road.

What happens if I don't get an MOT test for my vehicle?

Driving a vehicle without a valid MOT certificate is illegal and can result in a fine of up to £1,000.

Can I get an MOT test done early?

You can have your vehicle tested up to a month (minus a day) before the MOT test is due without losing any time on the current MOT certificate.

Latest News

Essential Vehicle Maintenance Tips for Longevity

12-06-2023 As a vehicle owner, ensuring the longevity of your car is crucial for both your…
Read more

What is a 65 point vehicle check

30-05-2023 When it comes to our vehicles, we all want them to run smoothly and efficiently.…
Read more

Tyre Tread - What You Should Know

16-05-2023 Tyres are an essential component of any vehicle, providing the vital connection…
Read more

Pilgrims of March is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, our firm reference number for consumer credit is 667880 . Pilgrims of March act as a non-independent credit intermediary for a limited number of lenders and are able to offer a limited number of finance products from these providers. You can check this on the FCA Register by visiting the or by contacting the FCA direct on 0300 500 8082.

Financial Disclosure

Pilgrims of March are a credit broker and not a lender. We are Authorised and Regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. FCA No: 667880 Finance is Subject to status. Other offers may be available but cannot be used in conjunction with this offer. We work with a number of carefully selected credit providers who may be able to offer you finance for your purchase.

We do not charge you a fee for our services. Whichever lender we introduce you to, we will typically receive commission from them (either a fixed fee or a fixed percentage of the amount you borrow). A customer may ask for commission disclosure at any time from our initial discussions through to the point when their agreement is set live.